Val-Saint-François

The spectacular natural landscapes of the Val-Saint-François feature hills and dales, valleys, lakes, and rivers. The earliest settlers were American Loyalists who came to farm the land along the St. Francis River, and immigrants from Scotland and Ireland who left their countries to start a new life in this area. Circa 1840, the first French-speaking families arrived, forsaking the overpopulated municipalities bordering the St. Lawrence.

Centre d'art de Richmond

Centre d'art de Richmond

Cleared in the late 1790s by pioneers from New England, Montreal, and the Richelieu Valley, Richmond is one of the oldest towns in the region. The municipality was named in honour of the governor-in-chief of British North America, Charles Lennox, the 4th Duke of Richmond.

Located in the former Mont Saint-Patrice convent (1884) and St. Bibiane’s Roman Catholic Church (1880), the Centre d’art de Richmond offers a wide variety of cultural activities, with its concert hall featuring exceptional acoustics, music school, and art gallery.

Activities: concerts, guided tour, and exhibitions.

 

1010, rue Principale Nord , Richmond
J0B 2H0
819 826-2488
Website

Musée de l'Ardoise

Musée de l'Ardoise

Located in a Presbyterian church dating back to 1889, this interpretation centre highlights the unique heritage of slate (roofing, slate objects, etc.).

Activities: Tour focusing on slate roofs. Also, a heritage tour of Richmond, slate-cutting demonstrations, and a gift shop.Documentation available at the Centre d’interprétation de l’Ardoise.

5, rue Belmont, Richmond
J0B 2B0
819 826-3313
Website

Woolen Mill

Woolen Mill

Dating back to 1850, the Woolen Mill is the only textile interpretation centre in Canada with a turbine and machines from the era that still function. The mill’s three storeys are devoted to the evolution of textiles. Workshops, sheep in enclosures, demonstrations. Trails, bar, food services, picnic area.

210, chemin Porter, Ulverton
J0B 2B0
819 826-3157
Website

Ulverton

Ulverton

Ulverton marks the northernmost limit of the American colonization of the Eastern Townships. Some believe that it got its name from Tilverton, a village near Dublin and birthplace of Edmund T. Patterson, one of the village’s founders. Others say that it refers to the English village of Ulverston. The quality and diversity of its heritage buildings make this one of the most original and picturesque villages in Quebec.

151, route 143, Ulverton
J0B 2B0
819 826 5049
Email | Website

Richmond County Historical Society

Richmond County Historical Society

2020: closed

The RCHS museum and archives are housed in a 170 year old home in Upper Melbourne that is part of the region’s best preserved historical neighborhoods. Furnishings donated by the community give the museum a Victorian air that harkens back to last century . The Richmond County Historical Society archives and museum have been central to the region's social and cultural activities for decades. Witness to centuries of development and community spirit, the activities bring people from far and wide out of hibernation and are a great way to meet the locals, make new friends and rekindle old friendships.

 


The Society offers guided bilingual tours of the Museum as well as group tours for
schools and other organizations.

 

1161, Route 243 , Canton de Melbourne
J0B 2B0
819 826-1332
Email | Website

Loading...

DISCOVER ANOTHER REGION

Townships Trail map Haut-Saint-François Des Sources Val-Saint-François Sherbrooke Memphrémagog Haute-Yamaska Brome-Missisquoi