Expertise route

To come

Browse the map
Musée Bruck

Musée Bruck

225, rue Principale, Cowansville J2K 1J4 450 263-0141, poste 230 Website

Opening hours, spring-summer 2023:

Thursday to Saturday, 12 p.m. to 4 p.m.

From June 20 to August 19, Tuesday to Saturday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Second empire style and built in 1874 as the Eastern Townships Bank, this remarkable building is a remarkable place to visit and is also the starting point of a heritage tour. Discover the Bruck-Lee permanent collection which consists of more than 75 works (paintings and sculptures). This collection was put together by the Cowansville Art Centre (1956-1979) and presents the works of Alexander Y. Jackson from Groupe des Sept and many artists from Beaver Hall Group.

Since 2009, Lee-Vermeille collection, following a sponsorship project, adds a contemporary component to the museum with its garden sculptures and paintings. The museum also hosts visual arts temporary exhibitions, mainly of artists living in the region.

Cowansville's  history began in 1798 with the arrival of the first settler, the son of a Loyalist named Jacob Ruiter. Cowansville gets its name from the Scotsman Peter Cowan, an influential businessman and later sheriff of the district of Bedford. The village was incorporated in 1876 and became a town in 1931. Cowansville is a bilingual, industrial town today and retains its Loyalist influences with magnificent buildings and affluent homes.

See More
The Missisquoi Museum

The Missisquoi Museum

2, rue River , Stanbridge East J0J 2H0 450 248-3153 Website

Stanbridge East was founded in 1801 and incorporated in 1890. The first inhabitants were former British settlers who wanted to remain loyal to the British Crown during the American Revolution, moving to the area in 1797. The Loyalists cleared the land for cultivation, and thus started an agricultural industry that remains prosperous to this day. The town is renowned for its Loyalist architecture and origins.

The Museum contains more than 12,000 items relating to Missisquoi County’s history, located in 3
period  buildings: the Cornell Mill (1830); the Walbridge Barn located in  the charming hamlet of Mystic and Hodge’s General Store.

See More
Musée de l'Ardoise (Slate Museum)

Musée de l'Ardoise (Slate Museum)

5, rue Belmont, Richmond J0B 2B0 819 826-3313 Website

Located in a Presbyterian church dating back to 1889, this interpretation centre highlights the unique heritage of slate (roofing, slate objects, etc.).

Activities: Tour focusing on slate roofs. Also, a heritage tour of Richmond, slate-cutting demonstrations, and a gift shop. Documentation available at the Centre d’interprétation de l’Ardoise.

See More
Woolen Mill

Woolen Mill

210, chemin Porter, Ulverton J0B 2B0 819 826-3157 Website

Dating back to 1850, the Woolen Mill is the only textile interpretation centre in Canada with a turbine and machines from the era that still function. The mill’s three storeys are devoted to the evolution of textiles. Workshops, sheep in enclosures, demonstrations. Trails, bar, food services, picnic area.

See More
Vitrine minéralogique et d’histoire

Vitrine minéralogique et d’histoire

351, boul. Saint-Luc, Val-des-Sources J1T 2W4 819 879-7171 Website

This is the capital of the asbestos-producing region, known particularly for its open-pit mines. With the Jeffrey Mine, the town can continue to claim to this day to have the largest open-air deposit in the world. The asbestos was discovered by 1879, and extraction began by William H. Jeffrey in 1881. Val-des-Sources (before called Asbestos) has been through its courses and graduated, growing from a simple post office to mining camp and from village to town. The name “Asbestos,” dating back to 1884, comes from the English word derived from the Greek name for incombustible.

The museum collects minerals from the Jeffrey Mine as well as derivative products from the mining industry, and provides information on the history of local mining.

See More
Parc historique de la Poudrière de Windsor

Parc historique de la Poudrière de Windsor

342, rue Saint-Georges, Windsor J1S 2Z5 819 845-5284 Website

Come see, hear and above all, smell the history of black powder! In an enchanting setting, live to the rhythm of the industry that has marked the town’s history. Come visit our exhibits, theatrical guided tours and multi-sensory show. Enjoy five kilometers of pedestrian trails, musical happy hours and art galleries.

See More
Mine’s observatory

Mine’s observatory

Boulevard St-Luc, face à la rue Panneton, Val-des-Sources Website

One of the world largest open-pit mining site is located in Val-des-Sources. Dug by more than 120 years of mining, Its 2-kilometer-diameter pit can be seen from an observatory overlooking the mine. Free access. A unique view!

See More
Loading...