Founders’ route

To come

Browse the map
Musée Beaulne

Musée Beaulne

96, rue de l’Union, Coaticook J1A 1Y9 819 849-6560 Website

The Beaulne Museum is housed in the Arthur-Osmore-Norton Castle, a historic residence built in 1912 by Arthur Osmore Norton

who made his fortune thanks to the manufacture of the ball and gear jack. The permanent exhibition traces the fascinating history of the Norton family.

Recognized for the conservation and presentation of textiles and costumes, the Museum also works in the fields of regional heritage and visual arts.

See More
 Lac-Brome Museum and Children's Museum

Lac-Brome Museum and Children's Museum

130, rue Lakeside, Lac Brome (Knowlton) J0E 1V0 450 243-6782 Email Website

The museum is located in the heart of Knowlton (Town of  Brome Lake) on beautiful grounds. Easily accessible, the museum includes many buildings: the old fire station; an interactive children's museum; the Martin Annex which houses a War Museum; see an airplane from the First World War, a rare find and the only one with its original material; the former courthouse dating back to 1858, which today serves as the accredited Archives Centre (available by appointment only); the former Knowlton Academy, and more.

The museum dedicates the largest artifact collection of the first war in which lies outside the War Museum in Ottawa. The house of the founder of Knowlton was added to the site in October 2014.

The Lac-Brome Museum, a perfect place for history lovers, or for a memorable family outing. 

See More
Louis S. St. Laurent National Historic Site

Louis S. St. Laurent National Historic Site

6790, route Louis-S.-St-Laurent, Compton J0B 1L0 1 888 773-8888 Website

This is Parks Canada’s only historic site in the Eastern Townships. Visit former Canadian Prime Minister’s native single-family home and the St-Laurent Store and Warehouse. Discover the local residents’ rural lifestyle of the turn of the 20th
century. Watch the multimedia show and relive a dynamic an  underestimated page of our history!

See More
The Sherbrooke Historical Society

The Sherbrooke Historical Society

275, rue Dufferin, Sherbrooke J1H 4M5 819 821-5406 Website

The Mhist-Musée d’histoire de Sherbrooke invites you to explore Sherbrooke and the Eastern Townships’ past. Discover the contribution of cultural communities on the development of the city for more than 200 years and witness their legacy.

Archives services, exhibits, tours and activities
all play in role in Sherbrooke Historical Society’s goal: promote Sherbrooke’s rich history!

See More
Uplands Cultural and Heritage Centre

Uplands Cultural and Heritage Centre

9 Rue Speid, Sherbrooke QC J1M 819-564-0409 Website

Housed in a stately and elegant heritage house, Uplands Cultural and Heritage Centre combines local history with cultural and artistic traditions. The centre is a unique establishment which offers: exhibitions of works by local and regional artists, concerts, workshops, guided tours, and more!

Enter the warm and elegant ambience of a distinguished home from the past. Each room has a unique charm, thanks to the many furnishings and antiques belonging to the Lennoxville-Ascot Historical and Museum Society.

Outside, discover our exhibit on large panels and beautiful gardens, where you can experience English tea. Guides in period costume welcome you and interpret this local tea tradition.

We hope to see you soon!

See More
Eaton corner Musuem

Eaton corner Musuem

374, route 253, Cookshire-Eaton (Eaton Corner) J0B 1M0 819 875-5256 Email Website

Open from the end of June to the end of September

The Eaton Corner Museum, a seasonal Museum, is located in the historic village of Eaton Corner. Come explore our permanent exhibit "A Tale of the Townships" in the Church building and our reserve collections in the Academy depicting life and work on the homestead, in the village, and in school, in the late 1800's to early 1900's. Many Eastern Townships family genealogy records are available for research.

 

See More
The Colby-Curtis museum

The Colby-Curtis museum

535 rue Dufferin, Stanstead J0B 3E0 819-876-7322 Website

Season 2023: Open from March 16 to December 22.

On the impressive Dufferin street in Stanstead sits the Colby-Curtis museum, located in a sumptuous 19th century manor. Admirably preserved and filled with unique artefacts testifying to the affluence of the Anglo-Canadian elite, this house invites you to travel back in time.

Enjoy a traditional English tea while gazing at the Victorian garden!

See More
Merry House. Magog’s Citizen Site of Memory

Merry House. Magog’s Citizen Site of Memory

708, rue Principale Ouest , Magog J1X 2B3 819 201-0727 Email Website

The Merry House is a citizen site of memory which shares the history, heritage, and archaeology of Magog and its region, from the time of the Aboriginal peoples and the American settlers, up to today.  Located by the Magog River, the Merry House is strategically positioned in the city centre. 

Many activities are offered to the visitors such as exhibitions (permanent and temporary), family introductory workshop on archeology, educational activities and various special events renewed annually. 

Also, thanks to a free mobile experience, it is possible to explore the outdoors while unveiling more photos and videos testifying of the strategic importance of our patrimonial site.  Welcome to the Merry’s!

See More
Richmond County Historical Society

Richmond County Historical Society

1161, route 243 , Canton de Melbourne J0B 2B0 819 826-1332 Email Website

2023 season: From June 18 to August 26, discover the indoor exhibition "Indian Day Schools in Canada: An Introduction" in collaboration with the Legacy of Hope Foundation. 

The Richmond County Historical Society Museum is located in the former rectory of St. Andrews Church and is part of a rich heritage complex. 

The Richmond County Historical Society and its museum have been at the heart of the region's social and cultural activities for decades. Witness to several centuries of development of community spirit, the museum offers activities allowing for a beautiful reunion and a golden opportunity to mingle with the people of here.

The museum offers bilingual guided tours as well as the organization of group tours.

See More
Loading...

Chemin des bâtisseurs

En explorant ces divers lieux fondateurs des Cantons-de-l'Est, les visiteurs découvrent les réalisations et les contributions des personnes et des communautés qui ont façonné l'histoire de la région. Ce chemin enrichissant aide à la compréhension du passé et de l'identité des Cantons.

Parcourez la carte
Musée Beaulne

Musée Beaulne

96, rue de l’Union, Coaticook J1A 1Y9 819 849-6560 Site Web

Le Musée Beaulne loge dans le Château Arthur-Osmore-Norton, une résidence historique construite en 1912 par Arthur Osmore Norton

qui a fait fortune grâce à la manufacture du cric à bille et à engrenage. L’exposition permanente retrace l’histoire fascinante de la famille Norton.

Reconnu pour la conservation et la mise en valeur des textiles et des costumes, le Musée œuvre également dans les domaines du patrimoine régional et des arts visuels. 

Voir plus
Musée Lac-Brome et Musée pour enfant

Musée Lac-Brome et Musée pour enfant

130, rue Lakeside, Lac Brome (Knowlton) J0E 1V0 450 243-6782 Courriel Site Web

Le Musée est situé en plein cœur de Knowlton. Facile d’accès, il comprend un ensemble d’édifices intéressants : l’ancienne caserne de pompiers; le Musée des enfants; l’Annexe Martin, où se trouve un avion de la Première Guerre mondiale, un des rares au monde avec ses matériaux d’origine; l’ancien Palais de justice, datant de 1858, qui héberge le service d’archives privées agréé (sur rendez-vous seulement); l’ancienne Académie Knowlton et plus encore.

Le Musée comprend la plus grande collection d’artéfacts de la Première Guerre mondiale en dehors du Musée canadien de la guerre à Ottawa.

Le Musée Lac-Brome, un lieu incontournable pour les amoureux d’histoire, ou pour une sortie familiale mémorable.

Voir plus
Lieu historique national Louis-S.-St-Laurent / Cœur villageois

Lieu historique national Louis-S.-St-Laurent / Cœur villageois

6790, route Louis-S.-St-Laurent, Compton J0B 1L0 1 888 773-8888 Site Web

Le seul lieu historique national de Parcs Canada dans les Cantons-de-l’Est. Visitez la maison
natale de l’ancien premier ministre du Canada ainsi que le magasin général. Découvrez le mode de
vie des habitants de la région au tournant du 20e siècle. Assistez au spectacle multimédia et revivez une  page méconnue de notre histoire!

Voir plus
Musée d'histoire de Sherbrooke

Musée d'histoire de Sherbrooke

275, rue Dufferin, Sherbrooke J1H 4M5 819 821-5406 Site Web

Le Mhist-Musée d’histoire de Sherbrooke vous invite à explorer le passé de Sherbrooke et des Cantons-de-l’Est. Nous vous proposons une rencontre avec les gens qui ont bâti Sherbrooke depuis plus de deux siècles et qui ont laissé des traces parfois impressionnantes de leur passage.

Service d’archives, expositions, circuits pédestres et publications sont autant de moyens qui mettent les visiteurs en contact avec l’histoire d’ici.

Voir plus
Centre culturel et du patrimoine Uplands

Centre culturel et du patrimoine Uplands

9 Rue Speid, Sherbrooke QC J1M 819-564-0409 Site Web

Logé dans une élégante résidence patrimoniale, le Centre culturel et du patrimoine Uplands offre un regard sur l’histoire et les traditions culturelles locales et régionales. Le centre vibre avec sa programmation culturelle variée : expositions d'œuvres d'artistes locaux et régionaux, concerts, ateliers, visites commentées, et plus!

Entrez dans l’ambiance chaleureuse d’une demeure distinguée d’antan. Chaque pièce rivalise de charme grâce à de nombreux meubles et antiquités appartenant à la Société d’histoire et de musée de Lennoxville-Ascot. 

À l’extérieur, découvrez une exposition sur panneaux et de beaux jardins, où vous pourrez faire l’expérience du thé à l’anglaise. Des guides en costume d’époque vous accueillent et interprètent la tradition du thé. 

À bientôt!

Voir plus
Musée Eaton Corner

Musée Eaton Corner

374, route 253, Cookshire-Eaton (Eaton Corner) J0B 1M0 819 875-5256 Courriel Site Web

Ouvert de la fin juin à la fin septembre

Le Musée Eaton Corner est situé au cœur d’Eaton Corner, un des plus vieux villages des Cantons‑de‑l’Est. Le Musée vous invite à découvrir son exposition « Les Cantons racontés » dans l'ancienne église et à explorer, dans le bâtiment de l'Académie, plusieurs artéfacts sélectionnés dans sa collection autour de l’évolution du mode de vie dans le village, à la ferme et à l'école, de la fin des années 1800 au début des années 1900. Des documents d'archives généalogiques concernant de nombreuses familles des Cantons-de-l'Est sont aussi disponibles en consultation.

 

Voir plus
Musée Colby-Curtis

Musée Colby-Curtis

535 rue Dufferin, Stanstead J0B 3E0 819-876-7322 Site Web

Saison 2023 : ouvert du 16 mars au 22 décembre.

Sur l’impressionnante rue Dufferin à Stanstead se trouve le Musée Colby-Curtis, abrité dans une magnifique maison du 19e siècle. Admirablement conservée et remplie d’artefacts uniques témoignant de la richesse de l'élite anglo-canadienne, cette demeure vous convie à un véritable voyage dans le temps. 

Venez prendre le thé à l’anglaise en admirant le jardin victorien!

Voir plus
Maison Merry. Lieu de mémoire citoyen de Magog

Maison Merry. Lieu de mémoire citoyen de Magog

708, rue Principale Ouest , Magog J1X 2B3 819 201-0727 Courriel Site Web

La Maison Merry est un lieu de mémoire citoyen racontant l’histoire, le patrimoine et l’archéologie de Magog et sa région, des Autochtones à aujourd’hui, en passant par les colons américains. Sise sur la rivière Magog, la Maison Merry jouit d’une situation stratégique au centre-ville.

Pour la découvrir, de nombreuses activités s’offrent aux visiteurs telles qu’expositions permanentes et temporaires, visites commentées, atelier familial d’initiation à l’archéologie, programmes scolaires et divers événements spéciaux renouvelés annuellement.

La connexion gratuite à l’expérience mobile permet l’exploration du site extérieur tout en dévoilant photos et vidéos inédits de la Maison. Au plaisir de vous accueillir chez les Merry!

Voir plus
Société d'Histoire du comté de Richmond

Société d'Histoire du comté de Richmond

1161, route 243 , Canton de Melbourne J0B 2B0 819 826-1332 Courriel Site Web

Saison 2023 : Du 18 juin au 26 août, découvrez l'exposition "Indian Day Schools in Canada: An Introduction" en collaboration avec la Fondation Legacy of Hope.

Le musée de la Société d’histoire du comté de Richmond est situé dans l'ancien presbytère de l’église St-Andrews et fait parti d’un riche ensemble patrimonial. L’ameublement est  typique d’une maison victorienne du siècle passé.

La Société d’histoire du comté de Richmond et son musée sont au coeur des activités sociales et culturelles de la région depuis des décennies. Témoin de plusieurs siècles de développement de l’esprit de communauté, le musée propose des activités permettant de belles retrouvailles et une occasion en or pour se mêler aux gens d’ici.

Le musée propose des visites guidées bilingues ainsi que l’organisation de visites de groupes.

 

Voir plus
Loading...