The Coaticook regional municipal county (RMC) consists of more than 1000 square kilometres of harmoniously undulating hills, valleys, and peaks that give the landscape its charm. Located in the Eastern Townships and bordered by Vermont and New Hampshire, the region features several different types of natural, religious, and architectural heritage.
The Townships Trail takes you through Waterville, Compton, Coaticook, and Barnston West including Way’s Mills and Kingscroft.
The Museum resides within the Arthur-Osmore-Norton Mansion built in 1912 by Arthur O. Norton who made his fortune in manufacturing the jack used by the railroad company. Relive the epic of the family during the 20th century on the Museum’s virtual website of Canada.
The museum specializes in period costumes and textiles, and also features works of art and regional history.
Permanent and temporary exhibits all year long
96, rue de l’Union, Coaticook
Bureau d'accueil touristique de Coaticook
The “Pearl of the Townships,” Coaticook has fully earned its reputation thanks to the beauty of its hills and valleys. It was settled in the 1820s and 1830s by Americans and Brits, and the municipality was finally incorporated in 1864. Following the merger of the municipalities of Barnston and Barford townships in 1999, the surface area of Coaticook increased considerably.
At the tourism office, in addition to the advice and suggestions on outings or activities we have available; we will be happy to help with lodging
and a restaurant of choice. Discover our regional products and local handicrafts shop. Real great finds await you!
Way's Mill / Barnston-Ouest
It is believed the Algonquin tread the soil of Barnston Township between 1300 and 1680. The Abenaki followed suit, then the Loyalists and Irish, and the Francophone wave began with the expansion of the railway around 1850. Today, residents live in the hamlets of Way’s Mills and Kingscroft, which have been part of Barnston West since 1946. An American manufacturer of tweed and flannel, L. S. Way, arrived around 1808, leaving his name to the village nestled in a bend of the Niger River, which is also crossed by Holmes Road.
2081, chemin de Way’s Mills, Barnston-Ouest
Louis S. St. Laurent National Historic Site
This is Parks Canada’s only historic site in the Eastern Townships. Visit former Canadian Prime Minister’s native single-family home and the St-Laurent Store and Warehouse. Discover the local residents’ rural lifestyle of the turn of the 20th
century. Watch the multimedia show and relive a dynamic an underestimated page of our history!
6790, route Louis-S.-St-Laurent, Compton
1 888 773-8888
Milby / Waterville
Built in 1873, this historical monument designated by the municipality is worth the detour. Its particular features include vertical panelling, straight lintels, lateral openings at the top, and curved root knee braces.
The bridge is open to traffic, at Chemin du Pont-Couvert, Milby
2335 Chemin du Pont Couvert, Waterville
Le Centre des beaux-arts Rozynski
The Rozynski Center of Fine Arts aims to promote, popularize and disseminate knowledge about ceramics and sculptural arts.
While seeking to commemorate the importance of the Eastern Townships for the development of ceramics in Quebec, and the rich artistic past of the hamlet of Way's Mills, the centre focuses its activities on research and creation for artists sculptors and contemporary ceramists.
Activities include master classes, workshops, conferences and artist residencies. A variety of activities for the general public are also offered, including various events and exhibitions taking place on 2 acres of land bordering the Niger River.